

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com



JMR Journal of Magnetic Resonance

Journal of Magnetic Resonance 172 (2005) 177

www.elsevier.com/locate/jmr

Announcement

The Russell Varian Prize 2005

- 3 The Russell Varian Prize honors the memory of the pioneer behind the first commercial nuclear magnetic resonance
- 4 spectrometers and co-founder of Varian Associates. The prize is awarded to a researcher based on a single innovative
- 5 contribution (a single paper, patent, lecture, or piece of hardware) that has proven of high and broad impact on state-of-
- 6 the-art NMR technology. The prize aims to award the initial contribution that laid the ground for the specific technology
- 7 of great importance in state-of-the-art NMR. It is sponsored by Varian Inc. and carries a monetary award of 15,000 Euro.
- 8 The award ceremony will take place at the EUROMAR 2005 meeting in Veldhoven, The Netherlands, July 3–8, 2005.

Rules for the Russell Varian Prize

- 10 Only single pieces of work are considered (a paper, a lecture, a patent, etc).
- In case of multiple authorship, the prize is awarded to the author with the largest creative and innovative share of the contribution. Only in exceptional cases of truly equal shares can the prize be split between two authors of the same contribution.
- 14 No individual can receive the prize more than once.
- Prizewinners become members of the Advisory Board for the Russell Varian Prize, which evaluates future nominations and makes recommendations to the Prize Committee.

Call for nominations

12

13

16

- 18 Nominations must be forwarded by e-mail to the Secretary of the Prize Committee, Vladimir Sklenář, at
- 19 sklenar@chemi.muni.cz. The deadline for nominations is February 11, 2005. Nominations must be laid out in the
- 20 format of a publishable laudatio proposal (see the 2004 laudatio as example) that, in case of multiple authorship, must
- 21 include an outline of why the nominee is the most innovative author behind the paper. Attention is further drawn to
- 22 the fact that the Russell Varian Prize awards the earliest seed paper of an important technology rather than later more
- 23 comprehensive and highly quoted papers.

Prize Committee 2005

25 Christian Griesinger, Jean Jeener (Chairman), Regina Schuck, Vladimír Sklenář (Secretary), and Ole W. Sørensen.

Former Russell Varian Prize Laureates

- 27 Jean Jeener, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium (2002):
- 28 Technology: Multidimensional Fourier NMR spectroscopy and imaging.
- 29 Awarded contribution: The lecture given at the Ampere Summer School in Basko Polje, Yugoslavia, September 1971,
- 30 where Jean Jeener introduced two-dimensional Fourier NMR spectroscopy by what is today known as the COSY 31 experiment.
- 32 Erwin Hahn, University of California, Berkeley, USA (2004):
- 33 Technology: Basics of modern time-domain NMR spectrometers, spin-echo phenomena and experiments, diffusion
- 34 measurements, and J couplings.
- 35 Awarded contribution: Bull. Am. Phys. Soc. 24, No. 7, 13 (1949), reprinted in Phys. Rev. 77, 746 (1950).